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What’s My Debt-to-Income (DTI) Ratio?

Debt-to-Income

What’s My Debt-to-Income (DTI) Ratio?

Debt-to-Income (DTI) is one of the many mortgage related terms home loan shoppers will hear all-to-often.

DTI is a component of the mortgage approval process that measures a borrower’s Gross Monthly Income compared to their credit payments and other monthly liabilities. Debt-to-Income Ratios are designed to give guidance on acceptable levels of debt allowed by particular lenders for loan programs.

There are actually two different Debt-to-Income Ratios that underwriters will review in order to determine if a borrower’s monthly income is sufficient to cover the responsibility of a mortgage according to the particular lender and/or their mortgage program guidelines.

Most loan programs allow for a Total DTI of 43% and a Housing DTI of 31%.

Two Types of DTI Ratios:

a) Front End or Housing Ratio:

  • Should be 28-31% of your gross income.
  • Divide the estimated monthly mortgage payment by the gross monthly income.

b)  Back End or Total Debt Ratio:

  • Should be less than 43% of your gross monthly income.
  • Divide the estimated house payment plus all consumer debt by the gross monthly income.

Remember, the DTI Ratios are based on gross income before taxes.  Lenders also prefer to use W2’s or tax returns to verify income and employment.

However, the adjusted gross income is used to calculate DTI for self-employed borrowers on most loan programs.  Since there is room for interpretation on these guidelines, it’s important to review your personal income and/or employment scenario in detail with your trusted mortgage professional to make sure everything fits within the guidelines.

Editorial Note: DTI percentages and figures are up-to-date as of 2018.

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Loan To Value

Calculating Loan-to-Value (LTV)

Understanding the definition of Loan-to-Value (LTV), and how it impacts a mortgage approval, will help you determine what type of loan amount and program you may qualify for.

Since the LTV Ratio is a major component of getting approved for a new mortgage, it’s a good idea to learn the simple math of calculating the amount of equity you may need, or down payment to budget for in order to qualify for a particular loan program.

The LTV Ratio is calculated as follows:

Mortgage Amount divided by Appraised Value of Property = Loan-to-Value Ratio

*On a purchase transaction for a residential property, the LTV is calculated using the lesser of either the purchase price or appraised value.

For Example:

Sally qualifies for a 96.5% Loan-to-Value FHA program, which means she’ll have to bring in 3.5% as a down payment.

If the purchase price is $100,000, then a 96.5% LTV would = $96,500 loan amount. And, the 3.5% down payment would be $3,500.

$96,500 (Mortgage Amount) / $100,000 (Purchase Price) = .965 or 96.5%

In addition to determining what mortgage programs are available, LTV also is a key factor in the amount of mortgage insurance required to protect the lender from default.

On a conventional loan, mortgage insurance is usually required if you have an LTV over 80%.  (one loan is more than 80% of the home’s appraised value)

On that point, if you are currently paying mortgage insurance and think that your LTV is less than 80%, then it may be time to refinance, or call your lender to restructure the payment.

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Frequently Asked LTV Questions:

Q:  Why do the lenders care about Loan to Value?

Lenders care about the LTV because it helps determine the exposure and risk they have in lending on a certain property. Statistics show that borrowers with a lower LTV are less likely to default on their mortgage.  Also, with a lower LTV the lender will lose less money in case of a foreclosure.

Q:  Can I drop my mortgage insurance on an FHA loan?

The mortgage insurance on an FHA loan is structured differently than a conventional loan. On a 30 year fixed FHA loan, the monthly mortgage insurance can be removed after five years, as well as when the borrower’s loan is 78% LTV.

Q:  What does CLTV stand for?

CLTV stands for Combined Loan To Value. The CLTV calculation is as follows:
(1st Mortgage Amount + 2nd mortgage amount) / Appraised Value of Property = CLTV

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Documents Mortgage Fabio Balbi

Common Documents Required For A Mortgage Pre-Approval

Even though many lenders are still quoting quick 10 minute pre-qualifications over the phone or online, a true mortgage approval that holds any weight is one that has been issued by an underwriter who has had an opportunity to review all of the necessary documents.

With a constant stream of new lending guidelines, volatile mortgage rates and tightening regulation from Washington, very few real estate agents will show new homes to a First-Time Home Buyer without at least a pre-qualification letter.

However, real estate agents representing sellers generally require full underwritten loan approvals which contain only a few contingencies that are due within a few days of accepting an offer.

A Pre-Approval Letter will help you in three ways:

It’s obviously a good idea to get your paperwork prepared ahead of time so that the pre-approval process is as thorough as possible.

In order to get a pre-approval letter, you’ll start by filling out a loan application and submitting a few documents for the loan officer and / or underwriter to review.

Common Loan Pre-Approval Documents:

Income / Assets for Wage Earner:

  • Last 2 year W2s and Tax Returns
  • 2 most recent Pay Stubs
  • 2 most recent Bank Statements, 401(K), Liquid Assets, Investment Accounts

Income / Assets for Self-Employed:

  • Last 2 year Tax Returns – Business and Personal
  • Last Quarter P&L Statement

Letter of Explanation For:

  • Employment Gap or New Line of Work
  • Late Payments / Judgments / Bankruptcy on Credit Report

Other:

  • Bankruptcy Discharge
  • Child Support Documentation
  • Lease Agreements (If own other Rental Properties)
  • Mortgage Payment Coupons (If own other Real Estate)

…..

Most borrowers also want an opportunity to learn more about the loan officer before digging up all of these personal documents.

Spend 15 minutes on the phone asking the loan officer to explain how mortgage rates work, quizzing them on some basic industry vocab or just to see if they know what to prepare your agent for ahead of time.

The Q&A session can be more than just a lender qualifying you, as long as you’re prepared to ask the right questions.

Either way, you’ll definitely want to have the above list of approval documents ready once you’ve decided on the right loan officer that you trust will meet your expectations.

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Mortgage

Top 8 Things To Ask Your Lender During The Application Process

Knowing what questions to ask your lender during or before the loan application process is essential for making your mortgage approval process as smooth as possible.

Many borrowers fail to ask the right questions during the mortgage pre-qualification process and end up getting frustrated or hurt because their expectations were not met.

Here are the top eight questions and explanations to make sure you are fully prepared when taking your next mortgage loan application:

1. What documents will I need to have on hand in order to receive a full mortgage approval?

An experienced mortgage professional will be able to uncover any potential underwriting challenges up-front by simply asking the right questions during the initial application and interview process.

Residence history, marital status, credit obligations, down payment seasoning, income and employment verifications are a few examples of topics that can lead to stacks of documentation required by an underwriter for a full approval.

There is nothing worse than getting close to funding on a new home just to find out that your lender needs to verify something you weren’t prepared for.

2. How long will the whole process take?

Between processing, underwriting, title search, appraisal and other verification processes, there are obviously many factors to consider in the overall time line, which is why communication is essential.

As long as all of the documents and questions are addressed ahead of time, your loan officer should be able to give you a fair estimate of the total amount of time it will take to close on your mortgage.

The main reason this question is important to ask up-front is because it will help you determine whether or not the loan officer is more interested in telling you what you want to hear vs setting realistic expectations.

You should also inquire about anything specific that the loan officer thinks may hold up your file from closing on time.

3. Are my taxes and insurance included in the payment?

This answer to this question affects how much your total monthly payment will be and the total amount you’ll have to bring to closing.

If you include your taxes and insurance in your payment, you will have a higher monthly payment to the bank but then you also won’t have to worry about coming up with large sums of cash to pay the taxes when they are due.

4. Will my payment increase at any point after closing?

Most borrowers today choose fixed interest rate loans, which basically means the loan payment will never increase over the life of the loan.

However, if your taxes and insurance are included in your payment, you should anticipate that your total payment will change over time due to increases in your homeowner’s insurance premiums and property taxes.

5. How do I lock in my interest rate?

It’s good to know what the terms are and what the process is of locking in your interest rate.

Establishing whether or not you have the final word on locking in a specific interest rate at any given moment of time will alleviate the chance of someone else making the wrong decision on your behalf.

Most loan officers pay close attention to market conditions for their clients, but this should be clearly understood and agreed upon at the beginning of the relationship, especially since rates tend to move several times a day.

6. How long will my rate be locked?

Mortgage rates are typically priced with a 30 day lock, but you may choose to hold off temporarily if you’re purchasing a foreclosure or short sale.

The way the lock term affects your pricing is as follows: The shorter the lock period, the lower the interest rate, and the longer the lock period the higher the interest rate.

7. How does credit score affect my interest rate?

This is an important question to get specific answers on, especially if there have been any recent changes to your credit scenario.

There are a few key factors that can influence a slight fluctuation in your credit score, so be sure to fill your loan officer in on anything you can think of that may have been tied to your credit.

8. How much will I need for closing?

*The new 2010 Good Faith Estimate will essentially only reflect what the maximum fees are, but will not tell you how much you need to bring to closing.

Ask your Loan Officer to estimate how much money you should budget for so that you are prepared at the time of closing.

Your earnest money deposit, appraisal fees and seller contributions may factor into this final number as well, so it helps to have a clear picture to avoid any last-minute panic attacks.

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Now that you have the background to these eight important questions, you should feel more confident about finding a mortgage company that can serve your personal needs and unique scenario.

Remember, the more you understand about the entire loan process, the better your experience will be.

Most frustration that is experienced during the home buying and approval process is largely due to unclear expectations.

You can never ask too many questions…

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Mortgage Rates

Mortgage Glossary: Top Terms To Know

While most mortgage web sites offer a glossary containing hundreds of real estate and lending related terms, we wanted to highlight the top terms that most borrowers will hear several times throughout the approval and home buying process.

Understanding the “Shop Talk” between the various industry professionals that you’ve assembled on your team will hopefully give you greater confidence when discussing important topics that may impact your transaction.

Amortization Schedule:

A schedule of payments showing the amount applied to the principal and interest through the payoff.

Annual Percentage Rate (APR):

The effective rate of interest that includes loan related fees.  The APR helps determine the total cost of borrowing a loan and is used to compare loans that are advertised with different note rates.

Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM):

As opposed to a fixed-rate mortgage where the payment is set for the full term of the loan agreement, an ARM is tied to a specific financial index and may adjust after a set amount of time.

Buydown:

Where a borrower pays an up-front fee to lower the mortgage rate and monthly payment.  Rate Buydowns can be used to help a borrower qualify for a loan, or as a means of negotiation where the seller would contribute to a lower rate in order to entice a buyer to purchase their property.

Combined Loan-to-Value (CLTV):

The total amount of mortgage obligations on a particular property compared to the fair market value.

Debt-to-Income Ratio (DTI):

A borrower’s minimum monthly liability payments divided by their gross monthly income.

Default:

Failure to fulfill an obligation to pay a mortgage.

Delinquency:

Late payments on a monthly liability.  Creditors generally report payments to credit bureaus once the delinquency goes past 30 days.

Disclosure:

A big stack of documents that the lender, buyer and sellers sign during a real estate purchase or mortgage transaction.  These disclosures may also notify all parties involved of their rights and obligations.

Discount Point:

The amount paid to decrease an interest rate.

Fico Score:

The three credit reporting agencies in the United States, Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion, collect data about consumers used to compile credit reports. The credit agencies use FICO software to generate FICO scores, which are sold to lenders.

Each individual actually has three credit scores at any given time for any given scoring model because the three credit agencies have their own databases, gather reports from different creditors, and receive information from creditors at different times.

Fixed Rate Mortgage:

A mortgage loan where the interest rate on the note remains the same through the term of the loan, as opposed to loans where the interest rate may adjust or “float”.

Good Faith Estimate (GFE):

A good faith estimate must be provided by a mortgage lender or broker in the United States to a customer, as required by the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA). The estimate must include an itemized list of fees and costs associated with your loan and must be provided within three business days of applying for a loan.

These mortgage fees, also called settlement costs or closing costs, cover every expense associated with a home loan, including inspections, title insurance, taxes and other charges.

A good faith estimate is a standard form which is intended to be used to compare different offers (or quotes) from different lenders or brokers.

Gross Income:

Total taxable income which is generally verified by a lender through tax returns and W2’s.

Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC):

A line of credit secured by real estate.

HUD-1 Statement:

A comprehensive and itemized list of closing costs prepared by a closing agent that details all of the financial figures in a mortgage refinance or purchase transaction.

Joint Liability:

When more than one person applies for and secures a mortgage.

Jumbo Mortgage:

A mortgage with a loan amount above conventional conforming loan limits. This standard is set by the two government-sponsored enterprises Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, and sets the limit on the maximum value of any individual mortgage they will purchase from a lender.

Fannie Mae (FNMA) and Freddie Mac (FHLMC) are large agencies that purchase the bulk of U.S. residential mortgages from banks and other lenders, allowing them to free up liquidity to lend more mortgages.

When FNMA and FHLMC limits don’t cover the full loan amount, the loan is referred to as a “jumbo mortgage”. The average interest rates on jumbo mortgages are typically higher than that of conforming mortgages.

Loan-to-Value (LTV):

The loan-to-value (LTV) ratio expresses the amount of a first mortgage lien as a percentage of the total appraised value of real property. For instance, if a borrower wants $130,000 to purchase a house worth $150,000, the LTV ratio is $130,000/$150,000 or 87% (LTV).

Loan to value is one of the key risk factors that lenders assess when qualifying borrowers for a mortgage. The risk of default is always at the forefront of lending decisions, and the likelihood of a lender absorbing a loss in the foreclosure process increases as the amount of equity decreases. Therefore, as the LTV ratio of a loan increases, the qualification guidelines for certain mortgage programs become much stricter. Lenders can require borrowers of high LTV loans to buy mortgage insurance to protect the lender from the buyer default, which increases the costs of the mortgage.

The valuation of a property is typically determined by an appraiser, but there is no greater measure of the actual real value of one property than an arms-length transaction between a willing buyer and a willing seller. Typically, banks will utilize the lesser of the appraised value and purchase price if the purchase is “recent.” What constitutes recent varies by institution but is generally between 1–2 years.

Loan Rate Lock:

Where the loan officer locks a specific rate with a lender for a set amount of time.

Liquid Assets:

Money in a bank or investment account that can be obtained quickly.

Loan Origination Fee:

A fee paid by a borrower to a lender for obtaining a mortgage loan.

Loan Servicer:

A mortgage servicer is the company that borrowers pay their mortgage loan payments to. Mortgage servicers either purchase or retain mortgage servicing rights that allow them to collect payments from borrowers in return for a servicing fee. The duty of a mortgage servicer varies, but typically includes the acceptance and recording of mortgage payments; calculating variable interest rates on adjustable rate loans; payment of taxes and insurance from borrower escrow accounts; negotiations of workouts and modifications of mortgage upon default; and conducting or supervising the foreclosure process when necessary.

Many borrowers confuse mortgage servicers with their lender. A mortgage servicer may be a borrower’s lender, but often the beneficial rights to the payment of principal and interest on mortgages are sold to investors such as Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, Ginnie Mae, FHA, and private investors in mortgage securitization transactions.

Mortgage Insurance:

Mortgage insurance (also known as mortgage guaranty) is an insurance policy which compensates lenders or investors for losses due to the default of a mortgage loan. Mortgage insurance can be either public or private depending upon the insurer.

Mortgage Backed Security:

A mortgage-backed security (MBS) is an asset-backed security or debt obligation that represents a claim on the cash flows from mortgage loans, most commonly on residential property.

First, mortgage loans are purchased from banks, mortgage companies, and other originators. Then, these loans are assembled into pools. This is done by government agencies, government-sponsored enterprises, and private entities, which may offer features to mitigate the risk of default associated with these mortgages.

Mortgage-backed securities represent claims on the principal and payments on the loans in the pool, through a process known as Securitization. These securities are usually sold as bonds, but financial innovation has created a variety of securities that derive their ultimate value from mortgage pools.

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI):

Private mortgage insurance (PMI) is insurance payable to a lender or trustee for a pool of securities that may be required when taking out a mortgage loan. It is insurance to offset losses in the case where a borrower is not able to repay the loan and the lender is not able to recover its costs after foreclosure and sale of the mortgaged property.

Real Estate Related Terms

Acceptance:

Generally used when a seller accepts the terms presented in a purchase contract offer.

Contingency:

A “Subject To” provision in a purchase contract or mortgage approval that requires more work or documents to be submitted prior to a final decision to be completed.

Due-Diligence:

The period of time described in a purchase contract for the buyer and seller to perform certain duties such as appraisal, loan approval and inspections.

Deed of Trust:

In real estate, a trust deed or deed of trust, is a document wherein specific financial interest in the title to real property is transferred to a trustee, which holds it as security for a loan (debt) between two other parties.

One is referred to as the trustor the other referred to as the beneficiary. In its simplest terms the trustor would be the receiver of money and the beneficiary would be the lender of money. The trust deed document most likely would be recorded (constructive notice) with the County Recorder where the property is located as evidence of and security for the debt.

When the loan is fully paid, the monetary claim on the title is transferred to the borrower by reconveyance to release the debt obligation. If the borrower defaults on the loan, the trustee has the right to foreclose on and transfer title to the lender or sell the property to pay the lender from the proceeds.

Earnest Money:

The deposit money deposited in escrow by a buyer in good faith to secure a purchase transaction.

Escrow:

A third party that holds money or property in trust until a transaction has been complete.  There are several uses for the word “Escrow” in the real estate or mortgage process.  Closing Escrow describes when a purchase transaction is complete.  An Escrow or Impound account involves having your annual property and hazard insurance payments handled by a third party and taken out of monthly installments in a mortgage payment.

Equity:

The difference between a loan balance and a property’s fair market value.

Rentals

Who Owns My Home If I Have A Mortgage?

Many borrowers believe that when they purchases a property by obtaining mortgage financing, they also own their home. Technically speaking, full ownership on a property only happens once the mortgage loan amount has been paid in full.

To break this down in more detail, there are a few components of a mortgage:

A Promissory Note is a document signed by the borrower acknowledging their commitment to pay the mortgage back with interest in a specific period of time.

In addition to the terms of repayment, the Note also contains provisions concerning the rights of both parties involved in the agreement.

In some states, a Deed of Trust is used instead of a Mortgage Note.

The main difference is that on a Deed of Trust there is a Trustee, which the legal title is vested to in order to secure the repayment of the loan.

There are three parties involved with a Deed of Trust:

  1. Trustor – This is the borrower.
  2. Trustee – This is the entity that holds “bare or legal” title, and is usually the title company which holds the Power of Sale in the event of default and re-conveys the property once the Deed of Trust is paid in full.
  3. Beneficiary – This is the lender that is getting repaid

Deeds of Trust are easier for lenders to foreclose on than a mortgage because there is no need for a judicial proceeding. Mortgages on the other hand, have to go through judicial proceedings, which can be expensive and time consuming.

Time frame for foreclosures of a deed of trust is about 3 months after the notice of default compared to a year for mortgages. Basically, until you have your promissory note paid in full, you are not the only one with an ownership interest in your property.

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There is Nothing “Short” About a Short Sale

A Buyers Guide To the Short Sale Process

With Las Vegas Home prices and interest rates at an all time low, it is a great time for buyers to start shopping around.  However, it is a different market than it was five years ago and terms like “foreclosure” and “short sales” are on the tip of every real estate agent’s tongue.  Short sales can be a great way to save money on a property in Las Vegas, but it could come with some bumps in the road.  As a buyer it is important to know what you are getting yourself into.

A short sale is a negotiated settlement in which a lender agrees to accept less than the amount owed to payoff a home loan as an alternative to foreclosure.  The result is that the bank and the seller don’t have to go through the foreclosure process and the buyer gets the property at a discount.

Sounds simple enough, right?  Well, unfortunately for the buyer, the short sale process does not mean what its name implies.  It is usally not a short process.  Once an offer is submitted it can take anywhere from 30 days to six months to get an acceptance from the bank to do the short sale.  Some banks, like Bank of America, have historically been a very difficult instution in appoving short sales. Some of our team’s agents however, have reported Bank of America speeding up their approvals with the implementation of their Equator system. Equator is an online portal agents and the bank use to upload and process short sale documents.  This is where having the right agent is critical. Their experience can go a long way in helping a buyer analyze which short sales may have a better chance of closing in a more reasonable time frame and which ones a buyer may want to avoid.

Now that you are aware that you may be in for a long haul, here are a few things to expect when going through the process.  First, your offer will be submitted to the bank, while financial statements will be sent to the bank on the seller’s behalf to establish the need for the seller to do a short sale.  Second, the bank will do an appraisal on the property.  Third, a negotiator will be assigned when all paper work on the seller and buyer’s side has been submitted.  The negotiator will go through all the paper work and make sure everything works out.  At this point the bank should have an idea of what they expect to get from the property.  They can either accept the offer, counter the offer or reject it. If approved, the bank will issue letter which allows the property to be transferred. At this point the escrow can continue in earnest.

Each bank may have a slightly different way of doing things.  As well, each bank may work on different time tables.  Some work more swiftly than others, while some take their time.  What is important is knowing that it is often not a quick process, but if you are willing to wait, you could pick up a gem. A buyer will also have the benefit of locking up a transaction rather than being forced to continually look to foreclosures, many of which are now multiple offers due to the lower foreclosure inventory currently available.

Additionally, if you are a Las Vegas homeowner and have any questions about selling your home as a short sale, feel free to give us a call for a free consultation at 702.376.0088.

Master Planned Communities in Southern Nevada: Southern Highlands

A pre-planned multi-builder development with recreation, public services, commercial sites and residential housing in a self contained community. This is part two of a multiple part series looking at various master planned projects throughout Southern Nevada. I will be focusing on Southern Highlands in this article.

Southern Highlands is located in the Southwest part of the Las Vegas Valley. Secluded up against the mountains the community is still convenient to the Las Vegas strip, the Airport (without being in the flight path) and easy access to I-15/California. The 2300 acre community has more than 50 acres of parks, walking trails and community sports facilities.

Southern Highlands is home to the Southern Highlands Golf Club. A private golf  course designed by Robert Trent Jones which is consistently ranked one of the top 30 golf courses in America. There is also a 42,000 square foot clubhouse and spa with dining and private party facilities.

There are two public elementary schools (Aldeane Comito Ries, Charles & Phyllis Frias) and a public middle school (Lois & Jerry Tarkanian). There is also a private school for grades k-8 (Southern Highlands Preparatory School). Visit the link for more information http://www.ccsd.net/.

Currently there are approximately 213 resale homes for sale in Southern Highlands ranging in price from $106,000 to $10,000,000. In addition there are 12 builders currently selling new homes with prices similar to the resale range. Since this is a master planned community there are association fees to consider when buying a home here. Monthly association fees run  from as low as $39 up to$600 a month. Another cost to consider is called a SID (Special Improvement District), basically a bond that is repaid by homeowners over a period of years. The SID was initiated to pay for the initial installation of infrastructure (roads, sewers, sidewalks, streetlights etc.). The SID’s payments range from $260 to $4800 a year and not every house has a SID balance. They are transferable from old owners to new owners and sometimes you can find a house where they have been paid off.

Needless to say, I am a big fan of master planned communities and Southern Highlands is one of the standouts in Southern Nevada. Feel free to contact me if you have any real estate questions regarding Southern Nevada. I have lived here for 20 years and I have been a Realtor here since 2001.

Las Vegas Golf Course Homes; Great Time to Buy Home of Your Dreams

Why is now a great time to buy the golf course home of your dreams? 

In the Las Vegas area there are over  50 golf courses with homes surrounding most of them.   Currently Las Vegas has over 800 properties listed in golf communities that range in price from a condo at Lake Las Vegas for $39,000 (no, that’s not a typo) to an estate in McDonald Ranch for $15,900,000.  There is literally something for everyone in every price range.  Selecting a home within a golf course community can be a very personal experience.   A community that meets your needs can include a view of the fabulous Las Vegas Strip,  private golf club,  recreational facilities with community rooms, pools, spas, walking paths,  exercise facilities, media rooms, massage,  on-site dining,  hotels and even a Casino, many have scheduled events, entertainment venues and much, much more.

Living in the Las Vegas area is truly an experience with great shopping, restaurants, freeways and beltways that can get you just about anywhere in the valley in less than 20 minutes – however, many find that life away from the “Strip” is much the same as anywhere else they’ve ever lived, a real community.   Many locals will tell you that they rarely go to the Strip except when company comes, but thankfully — it’s your choice.   In the coming weeks, I’ll give you insight into the various areas that are often overlooked.

GOLF IN HENDERSON

The very first Master Planned Community in the Vegas Valley was Green Valley in Henderson.  It was built in the 1970’s surrounding what is now the Wildhorse Golf Club, www.golfwildhorse.com.  Wild Horse  was built in 1959 and at one time owned by Hank Greenspun of the Las Vegas Sun and later by Howard Hughes.   Previously on the PGA Tour as the Sahara Invitational, it is now a public course owned by the City of Henderson. (If you google this course, you’ll find it labeled as Paradise Valley Country Club.)   This course was just re-designed  to provide recent xeriscaping to both beautify the property and conserve water. Wildhorse offers an enjoyable round of golf at a reasonable price and is definitely a local’s favorite!

If you have interest in this golf community, there are only 91 properties that surround the course itself and possibly 5 vacant estate lots still available.    While many of the homes are older, a many have undergone extensive makeovers. Interested?  There are only a few properties available that have golf course frontage.

If you are interested in a Golf Course Home in Las Vegas, feel free to give us a call at 702.376.7379 or fill out the contact form to the right.

VA Loan Basics For Las Vegas Veterans

VA Loan Basics For Las Vegas Veterans

If you’re a Las Vegas Veteran, a VA Mortgage may be an excellent option to consider when pre-qualified for new home loan.

What Are VA Loans?

As a way to honor and serve those who served the nation in World War II, the U.S. government created the VA Loan Guaranty program.

Since then, the Department of Veterans Affairs has helped more than 18 million veterans and their families achieve the dream of home-ownership.

Faced with deployments across the globe and frequent domestic relocation, active duty military members and veterans have struggled at times to build the financial stability necessary to secure reasonable lending options. VA loans have served as a crucial bridge for this deserving demographic.

VA loans are guaranteed by the federal government. In essence, the Department of Veterans Affairs agrees to cover about one quarter of a borrower’s mortgage in the event of default. That fiscal safety net gives VA-approved lenders a greater degree of security, which often translates into excellent rates and loan terms for qualified borrowers.

VA loans are also one of the few remaining ways for borrowers to purchase a home without putting any money down. The no-down payment feature is routinely cited as the program signature benefit as it is also a cornerstone of the program’s mission to make home-ownership possible for as many veterans and military members as possible.

The VA Loan Guaranty Program backed more than $68 billion in single-family loans for the fiscal year ending Sept. 30, an 80-percent increase from last year.

Some Key Benefits of VA Loans:

VA loans feature some of the most powerful financial benefits of any loan product on the market, in large part as a tribute and service to America’s veterans and active duty military members.

VA loans are one of the few remaining avenues for qualified borrowers to buy a house without a down payment — that no-cost option is routinely cited by veterans as the program’s most compelling benefit. In most parts of the country, veterans who qualify can purchase a home worth up to about $729,000 without putting down a single dollar.

There are also several other key benefits that can make a huge financial difference for military members and their families:

  • No private monthly mortgage insurance, which is a staple of conventional loans when the buyer puts down less than 20 percent
  • No penalties for loan pre-payment
  • Higher debt-to-income ratio allowed than for most conventional loans
  • Sellers can pay up to 6 percent of closing costs

Veterans often have an easier time qualifying for a VA loan. In fact, about 8 in 10 VA borrowers could not have obtained a conventional loan. The program does not have income or credit restrictions.

But remember that the VA doesn’t issue loans – it guarantees them. Prospective borrowers should expect VA-approved lenders to examine an applicant’s financial standing and credit history. In general, borrowers with a credit score below 620 may struggle initially to obtain financing.

Who Is Eligible For VA Mortgage Loans?

Millions of American veterans and active duty military members are eligible for the VA Loan Guaranty Program. But fewer than 10 percent of the country’s 24 million veterans have taken advantage of their entitlement.

Many veterans think they’re ineligible for benefits. Others don’t know how to apply or where to look for information. In fact, a 2004 VA survey found that 20 percent of veterans weren’t even aware of the home loan program’s existence.

The sad reality is millions of military members who bravely served our country are still missing out.

Anyone who meets the following criteria is eligible to qualify for a VA loan:

  • Military members who have served 181 days on active duty or three months during war time may be eligible.
  • People who have spent at least a half-dozen years in the National Guard or Reserves
  • Spouses of those killed in the line of duty

Prospective borrowers who meet the criteria must first obtain a Certificate of Eligibility from the VA. The COE is a formal military document that essentially verifies an applicant’s entitlement to participate in the program.

These forms can be found online at the VA website or through qualified VA lenders and brokers.

Not everyone who qualifies will wind up obtaining a VA loan. But those who do qualify have access to one of the most flexible and powerful lending options in the country.

What Can VA Loans Be Used For?

VA loans are surging in popularity nationwide, as more and more veterans turn to these low-cost loans in the face of a hardened credit market and a declining economy. Qualified buyers can purchase a home with no down payment and enjoy an array of significant financial benefits, from no private mortgage insurance to closing costs paid by the seller.

While VA loans are flexible, there are some limitations. These government-guaranteed loans can be used for a range of purposes that fit the needs of most military members and their families. But veterans and active duty military cannot use their VA entitlement for certain types of purchases.

First, here’s a look at the acceptable uses of a VA loan:

  • To buy, build or refinance an owner-occupied residence
  • To refinance an existing VA-guaranteed or direct loan
  • To repair, alter or improve a veteran-owned residence
  • To simultaneously purchase and improve a home
  • To buy a single-family residential unit in a VA-approved condominium development
  • To buy a farm residence owned and occupied by the veteran

So, VA loans are applicable for a range of uses for military members and their families. The main thrust of the program is home purchasing and refinancing. There are options for purchasing manufactured homes, but there are specific criteria regarding the units and lending institutions have become increasingly wary of these types of loans.

Now, here’s a look at the non-acceptable purposes of VA Loans:

  • Land loans
  • Investment properties
  • Buying or building a combined residential and business property unless
  • The property is primarily residential, with no more than one business unit and a nonresidential area that doesn’t exceed 25 percent of total floor space
  • Buying more than one separate residential unit or lot unless one is owner-occupied and there’s evidence that:
  • The units are not available separately
  • The units have a common owner, were considered one unit in the past or are assessed as one unit

How Much Can I Borrow With My VA Loan?

As with any home loan, the final loan amount will vary based on a number of factors, including an applicant’s financial standing and credit score.

Underwriters will generally seek to identify and verify income that can be used to cover the mortgage payment; other shelter expenses; debts and obligations; and family living expenses. They will also seek to verify that the income is stable, reliable and likely to continue.

The VA has a lending limit in place that varies by geography. In most parts of the country, the loan limit is $417,000. There are higher limits in some of the nations’ more expensive real estate markets. In those markets, the VA Loan limit is $1,094,625.

In essence, qualified buyers who want to purchase a home above the loan limit are on the hook for covering the difference. There are also jumbo loan options available.

HUD Charges Las Vegas Real Estate Broker and Owners with Violating Fair Housing Act

A Las Vegas Real Estate Broker and two homeowners have been charged with violating the Fair Housing Act by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  They allegedly denied a single mother of (7) the opportunity to rent a four bedroom home because of the number of children she had.  It’s a violation of Fair Housing to discriminate based on family status as well as the number of children.  They could be facing civil penalties and/or punitive damages if it is determined discrimination has occurred. Read More

Mountain’s Edge: Top Selling Master Planned Community

Mountain’s Edge was the top selling master planned community in the country for 2008. An impressive feat considering the tumultuous real estate market in Southern Nevada as of late.

Mountain’s Edge sits on 3500 acres of land in the Southwest part of the Las Vegas Valley. 550 acres have been set aside for parks and future community amenities. Six schools are planned for the community, with two elementary schools already up and running. There are more than a dozen builders offering 76 different models for sale. On top of that there are roughly 272 resale homes currently for sale in the community.

Like any community there are pros and cons to living in Mountain’s Edge. Some features can be both a positive and a negative at the same time. For example Mountain’s Edge maintains strict zoning and property standards. As well as generous and well maintained common areas. These features tend to help maintain property values into the foreseeable future. The down side to this is that there is (usually) more than one association fee. One for the sub-division and one for the master planned community. In Mountain’s Edge there is also a SID (Special Improvement District). A SID is basically a bond taken out to raise money for infrastructure (roads, sidewalks, utilities, etc.). All homeowners agree to pay back the SID over a specified period of time until it is paid off or they sell the house. SID balances are transferable to the new owners when the home is sold.

Mountain’s Edge is well named as it sits tucked up against the mountains in the Southwest corner of the valley. Some would say it is a little isolated with limited shopping and minimal road access. Both factors which will be addressed over time with increased local shopping options and the extension of Rainbow Boulevard (a major north-south Boulevard in Las Vegas).

This blog was intended to give the reader a brief overview of Mountain’s Edge. In future blogs, I will address in more detail, other relevant facts and features about the community.

My name is Greg Hoffman and I have lived in Las Vegas for the past 19 years. I have been a Realtor here for the past 10 years. I welcome your comments and questions. 702-683-6913.